top of page

The nine protected characteristics.

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age

  2. Disability

  3. Gender Reassignment

  4. Race- including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin.

  5. Religion or belief

  6. Marriage or Civil Partnership

  7. Sex

  8. Sexual Orientation

  9. Pregnancy and Maternity

bottom of page